rman auxiliary (for duplicate)

I just do some tests with the Oracle 12.2 Release and while doing tests it is all the time better to have a second database and that is the time for rman. So I looked around and found an easy way to duplicate a database from a Backup. Here the details:

My environment

OL 7.3 with an Oracle 12.2 + DATABASE BUNDLE PATCH: 12.2.0.1.170516 (25862693)

I setup an database via dbca and use Standards including the fast recovery area. Oh yes the FRA is a standard now

Next I did a backup and here I did a few tests with image copied and „backup as copy database“. While doing this I had a full backup on disk and that is the point to start with the duplicate.

What are the steps?

First I created a initdb2.dup

Yes, for testing I create only one controlfile
initdb2.dup
*.audit_file_dest='/u01/app/oracle/admin/db2_s1/adump'
*.audit_trail='NONE'
*.db_name='db2'
*.db_unique_name='db2_s1'
*.control_files='/u01/app/oracle/fast_recovery_area/db2_s1.ctl'
*.db_create_file_dest='/u01/app/oracle/oradata'
*.db_recovery_file_dest_size=8G
*.db_recovery_file_dest='/u01/app/oracle/fast_recovery_area'
*.enable_pluggable_database=true
*.large_pool_size=256M
*.sga_target=2G

Next I created a few directories and then I started the new instance


sqlplus / as sysdba

startup nomount pfile=/u01/app/oracle/admin/db2/pfile/initd2.dup'

finally I start the duplicate from „BACKUP LOCATION“

 



rman auxiliary /

RMAN>duplicate database to db2 backup location '/u01/app/oracle/fast_recovery_area';

 

That’s it finished :-)

Keep in mind that I set my environment before starting the rman duplicate and the connection is done against the auxiliary instance. Yes, it is very easy to do a duplicate to a new database when you have a full backup on disc.

 

 

 

Über spa

Oracle and Unix Professional, main focus on Oracle HA - Systems also an Exadata enthusiasts
Dieser Beitrag wurde unter General, Oracle 12.2, Oracle Database abgelegt und mit , verschlagwortet. Setze ein Lesezeichen auf den Permalink.

Kommentar verfassen

